Lithuania joins the Unified Patent Court Agreement

On 24 August, 2017, Lithuania deposited its instrument of ratification of the UPC Agreement with the secretariat of the EU Council in Brussels. This is required for the ratification to have effect.

As we announced earlier this month, Estonia also ratified the UPCA, which makes a total of 14 countries that have now ratified.

However, the agreement still needs to be ratified by both the UK and Germany before it can come into effect, and in these two countries the procedure has been delayed by negotiations on the UK’s withdrawal from the EU (Brexit) and a public complaint currently pending before the German Federal Constitutional Court.

For an updated list of countries that have ratified the UPCA click here.